Pontypool Become Invincibles … And Llandovery Clinch First Indigo Premiership Title with Stunning Victory Over Cardiff

Harry Corish - Sportin Journalist

In a captivating clash in the Welsh capital, Llandovery delivered a resounding blow to league leaders Cardiff, triumphing with a remarkable 24-8 scoreline to clinch the Indigo Premiership title for the first time.

After a 260-day journey, the 22-23 Indigo Premiership reached its thrilling conclusion, as the West Walian side stunned Cardiff to lift the coveted trophy.

For experienced hooker Ricky Guest, it marked a memorable finale to his illustrious career in the Welsh Premiership. 17 years since his debut in the competition, Guest helped his Llandovery teammates to etch their names in club history by capturing the title for the first time.

Cardiff, despite finishing top of the table during the regular season, faced disappointment as they fell short of lifting the cup. The visitors displayed strength from the outset, thwarting Cardiff’s early onslaught. Jack Maynard’s accurate penalties secured a 6-0 lead for Llandovery.

Amidst 15 minutes of fierce competition, Llandovery extended their lead with a well-executed try following a stolen lineout.

The experienced Lee Rees finished off a sweeping move with trademark precision, thanks to excellent contributions from Adam and Aaron Warren, resulting in the first try of the final.

Maynard and Harrison James exchanged penalties before the break, with the Drovers securing a promising 16-3 lead.

In the second half, Cardiff continued to fight, but Llandovery’s well-drilled defence led by Tom Hancock stood tall. Cardiff’s chances took a further blow when centre Aaron Pinches received a yellow card for a tip tackle.

Euros Evans’ team persevered, and their hard work paid off as Lee Rees once again found himself in the right place at the right time, capitalizing on a scintillating Llandovery attack. Aaron Warren’s influential presence saw him elude three players before setting up Rees for an easy score.

However, Cardiff managed a response with a try from Jacob Lloyd, courtesy of excellent work from James Beale and Dewi Cross. But it was to prove to only be a consolation, as the Drovers held on for a huge victory in the final.

Pontypool concluded their WRU Admiral National Championship campaign in spectacular fashion. Going up against Ystalyfera at the Ynysdarren Ground, Pontypool produced their own piece of history by securing an unprecedented 30th consecutive victory, capping off a flawless season.

Right from the outset, Pontypool showcased their dominance, racing to a commanding 50-7 lead by halftime. Undeterred, they continued their relentless assault, amassing points and leaving Ystalyfera in their wake.

The team’s remarkable performance included an astonishing total of 13 tries, culminating in a breath-taking 83-7 triumph and solidifying their 26th consecutive league win of the season.

This outstanding display not only affirmed Pontypool’s status as champions but also earned them an impressive league and WRU-run cup double, a feat they hadn’t accomplished since the inception of leagues in 1990.

It was a season that will be forever etched in the history books, serving as a testament to Pontypool’s exceptional prowess and resilience.