Glamorgan’s Comprehensive 10-Wicket Victory Sees Them Climb To Fourth In Table

Harry Corish - Sportin Journalist

Glamorgan secured their first victory of their County Championship season in emphatic fashion, cruising to a 10-wicket win over Worcestershire at Sophia Gardens, in Division 2.

Glamorgan led by 149 after both teams’ first innings totals and after dismissing the hosts for just 227 in their second innings, the Welsh County required just 79 runs to win the match. It took them less than an hour on the third day to chase down the target and wrap up a comprehensive victory.

Glamorgan’s dominant victory over Worcestershire was set up by a strong first innings display, which saw them post a total of 258. Australian Marnus Labuschagne, who was playing his final game at Sophia Gardens this year, made a useful contribution of 42, while David Lloyd added 48.

One of the standout performers in Glamorgan’s first innings was Michael Neser, who produced a stunning knock of 86 to help his side to a significant first innings lead of 149.

Glamorgan’s bowlers then took control, with Tim van der Gugten leading the way with figures of 5-48 in Worcestershire’s second innings. This was van der Gugten’s third five-wicket haul of the season, highlighting his excellent form in the early stages of the campaign.

Opener Eddie Byrom led the way with a superb knock of 51, ably supported by David Lloyd, as the duo put on an unbroken partnership of 82 to seal the win.

Glamorgan’s success has earned them 20 valuable points, which sees them sitting in fourth place in the table and firmly in contention for a promotion spot.

It was a performance full of heart and character from the Welsh outfit, who bounced back from a slow start to the season with a clinical display of cricket that will give them great confidence looking forward to their crucial clash at Hove against Sussex.

Marnus Labuschagne will face his Australian teammate Steve Smith before they join up for Australia’s preparations for the Test Championship final at Lords and the Ashes series against England which starts June 16th.