Catch Up On The Action – Gerwyn Price Picked Up His Fourth Win In The PDC Premier League

Harry Corish - Sportin Journalist


Gerwyn Price moves him into second place in the table, just two points behind Michael van Gerwen.

The Welshman continued his fine form by beating Chris Dobey and van Gerwen before easing past reigning world champion Michael Smith in the final in Brighton.

The Iceman was on fire in the early stages of night 11 of the Premier League, sweeping aside Dobey 6-2 and averaging 115.97 throughout the game.

Price kept his average above the 100 mark to defeat van Gerwen 6-5. The Welshman kept his cool to hold off Michael Smith in the final, winning 6-3, becoming the first player to win four nights in the Premier League this year.

Horse Racing 

There was plenty of Welsh interest in the Grand National this weekend, held at the iconic Aintree racecourse.

The race was won by Corach Rambler, although Welsh jockey Sean Bowen finished fourth with last year’s winner, Noble Yeats.

The pair headed into the weekend confident, having performed well at the Cheltenham Gold Cup. However, Noble Yeats was unable to emulate Tiger Roll by winning back-to-back Grand Nationals.

Our Power, trained by Sam Thomas, finished in 11th place, while Franky de Burlais, trained by Peter Bowen finished 16th.

Eva’s Oscar, trained by Tim Vaughan, unseated Welsh jockey Alan Johns on the fence 21 despite running an excellent race.

Ice Hockey 

The Belfast Giants completed the Grand Slam by beating the Cardiff Devils 4-1 in the Viapaly Elite League Playoff final at the Motorpoint Arena.

Mark Richardson scored the opening goal for the Devils, beating the buzzer at the end of the first period. Jeff Baum levelled things up when he found the top corner in the second period.

The Giants took control of the game when Steven Owre scored, finding the roof of the net. Donovan Neuls then doubled their lead just 64 seconds later, before Mark Cooper sealed the win late on.


Mark Williams trails qualifier Jimmy Robertson 5-4 as the pair head into Monday afternoon’s concluding session of the first round.

The Welshman won a hard-fought first frame, but Robertson was able to punish Williams after he missed a crucial pink to take the second.

The pair traded frames, but it is the Englishman who held on to his slender margin at the close of play.


Cardiff’s Dan Nash, the current British record holder for 50km, pipped 2021 champion and former track star Adam Bowden in the closing stages of the marathon, winning the men’s title in a brilliant 2:19:46 – a new course record.

Lliswerry Runner Lizzie Dimond took the title on home turf in the women’s marathon, finishing in a time of 2:49:36. Melissah Gibson of Ealing Eagles, who was also the runner-up in 2021, came in second in a time of 02:54:40.

Despite suffering a puncture at mile seven, Richie Powell ground it out to take the wheelchair title in 02:31:51, with time out for a tyre change costing him the wheelchair marathon course record.